2016-2023 Accreditation

Los Angeles Pierce College is accredited by the Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges, Western Association of Schools and Colleges, an institutional accrediting body recognized by the Council for Higher Education and the U.S. Department of Education.

Students and members of the public, who wish to file a formal complaint to the Commission about one of its member institutions, may contact the Commission as shown below:

Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges
Western Association of Schools and Colleges
10 Commercial Boulevard, Suite 204
Novato, CA 94949

(415) 506-0234

Additional information about accreditation, including the filing of complaints against member institutions, can be found at: www.accjc.org 

What is accreditation?

Accreditation is a both an evaluative process and seal of approval for institutions of higher education:

Accreditation is a voluntary system of self regulation developed to evaluate overall educational quality and institutional effectiveness (The Commission’s complete Purpose Statement is available in Article I, section 2 of its Bylaws). The ACCJC accreditation process provides assurance to the public that the accredited member colleges meet the Standards; the education earned at the institutions is
of value to the student who earned it; and employers, trade or profession-related licensing agencies, and other colleges and universities can accept a student’s credential as legitimate. (www.ACCJC.org)

What is the ACCJC?

The ACCJC is the Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges.  It functions under the umbrella of the Western Association of Schools and Colleges, and is unique among regional accrediting agencies in that no other such bodies accredit only associate degree granting institutions.  The ACCJC accredits community and junior colleges in California, Hawaii, the Territories of Guam and American Samoa, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, the Republic of Palau, the Federated States of Micronesia, and the Republic of the Marshall Islands.